• John Joubert
  • Octet (1961)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Hull Festival

  • cl.bnhnstr(
  • 22 min

Programme Note

John Joubert: Octet Op. 33
For clarinet, bassoon, horn, string quartet and double bass

1. Andante con moto
2. Allegro vivace
3. Adagio - Allegro

My Octet Op. 33 was first performed by the Melos Ensemble at the Hull Arts Festival of 1961, for which it had been commissioned. There are three movements. The opening Andante is nocturnal in mood, and opens with a rising figure on the strings. This figure contains intervals which recur throughout the movement, and which also form the basis of the thematic material of the last movement. The second movement is a scherzo which maintains a hectic and unbroken momentum from beginning to end. The finale opens with a slow introduction in which each of the wind instruments in turn have cadenza-like passages accompanied by the strings. The Allegro which follows is interrupted just before the end by a return of the music of the slow introduction, but the music of the Allegro finally re-asserts itself to bring the whole work to a lively conclusion.
© 1972 John Joubert

View Score