Written to commemorate Ruggiero Ricci's Golden Jubilee. Commissioned by the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Society, with funds provided by the Arts Council of Great Britain. First performed by Ruggiero Ricci, violin, and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Walter Weller at Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool, on 26 September 1978.

  • 2(pic)2(ca)2(bcl)2(cbn)/4231/timp.3perc/hp.cel/str
  • Violin
  • 33 min


I. Sostenuto - Allegro non troppo - Più mosso - Cadenza - Allegro non troppo
II. Theme and Variations


  • Gerard Schurmann's Centenary
    • Gerard Schurmann's Centenary
    • In 2024 we celebrate the centenary of the late composer Gerard Schurmann. Join us in celebrating the career of a master of the orchestra as we explore a selection of his finest concert works.