• Kevin Volans
  • Kneeling Dance (1992)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Piano Circus with financial assistance form the Southern Arts Board

  • 6pf
  • 8 min

Programme Note

Kneeling Dance is based on a cyclic 24 chord progression which I have treated in various ways: shortening, extending, reversing, filtering and intensifying with added notes. To this I’ve added 2 freely-composed and independent bass parts, and a coda which explores several interlocking techniques. With the dense agglomeration of chords I hoped to build up a sustained resonance in the inner voices. The title has no particular significance.

Kevin Volans


Kevin Volans: Kneeling Dance