Commissioned by James Galway

Lennox Berkeley

  • 1222/2000/timp/str
  • flute
  • 14 min

Programme Note

The rather unusual title for a work for orchestra - in fact a Concerto - is explained by the fact that it was originally written by Francis Poulenc, the French composer who died in 1963 and was a member of the composers who were known as "Les Six", for Flute and Piano. With his usual skill and expertise, Sir Lennox Berkeley has 'converted' this short work into a concert which is so convincing that the Composer himslef might, if he had heard it, have wondered why he did not think of it in the first place!

It is a most attractive work giving full scope to the range and versatility to the Flute as a solo instrument as well as providing us with a slow movement of unalloyed charm.