• Elizabeth Maconchy
  • Concertino (1985)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by BBC Scotland

  • 1111/2100/timp/str
  • clarinet
  • 10 min

Programme Note

Concertino (1984)
For Clarinet and Small Orchestra

Poco Lento
Vivo-Allegro ritmico

The CONCERTINO for clarinet and small orchestra is lightly scored for single woodwind, two horns, trumpet, timpani, and strings. It opens poco lento with a canon between solo clarinet and flute; this recurs later, punctuated by expressive lyrical passages for the clarinet. The second movement is marked vivo with lively writing for the soloist ending with a little cadenza. The final allegro ritmico is characterised by a simple syncopated rhythm.

Elizabeth Maconchy
November 1985