• Elizabeth Maconchy
  • And Death Shall Have No Dominion (1969)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Birmingham Brass for the Three Choirs Festival

  • 2hn.3tpt.3tbn
  • SATB
  • 12 min

Programme Note

The theme of this great poem is explicit in the line which begins and ends each of its three verses, so framing the whole poem: for behind the images of death and terror of the sea there is a sense of hope - “Though lovers be lost love shall not….Split all ends up they shan’t crack…. And Death shall have no dominion.”

In setting this poem for voices and eight brass I have had in mind the high spaces of a cathedral, writing music whose reverberations are intended to hang in the air. I have aimed to keep the textures transparent, and the music is mainly slow moving, but the declamatory passages for the brass build up an exciting structure of sound.

© Elizabeth Maconchy

View Score

Preview the score