• Geoffrey Burgon
  • Gloria (1973)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • pic.ob.cl/hn/pf/vc
  • 4 min

Programme Note

Geoffrey Burgon's short Gloria (1973) is also an 'in memoiam' piece for Stravinsky, who died in 1971. It is scored for a wind quartet (piccolo, oboe, clarinet, horn), with a piano and cello to complete the ensemble, and contains various references to Stravinsky's style and procedures. It is based on a plainsong Gloria, stated at the beginning, which is used throughout.