• str
  • 11 min

Programme Note

The suite is in four movements. Introduction and Fuge, Air, Scherzo, Epilogue. The introduction is slow and sustained, starting with the two notes (D, C sharp) that also begin The Fugue. The Fugue (Allegro) is in fairly strict classical form – a form familiar to all music lovers. The Air which follows consists of a melodic line with contrapuntal accompaniment, the melody passing from one group of players to another throughout. The Scherzo is also in traditional form and includes a ‘Tzio’ section before recapitulating the main part of the movement. Here however, the recapitulation is not an exact repeat as in classical music. A short slow movement (Epilogue) returns to the material and the mood of the opening and concludes the work.