Commissioned by the City of London Sinfonia

Piano reduction also available

  • str(min
  • bassoon
  • 19 min

Programme Note

This concerto fits in with my interest in writing for instruments with a limited repertoire – in earlier pieces I have written for saxophone, marimba and guitar. I whetted my appetite for bassoon writing in 1991 with a sonata for Laurence Perkins. The concerto is in three movements, the first, marked vivo, is vigorous in character and has a dramatic cadenza for the soloist, the second is more lyrical and exploits the singing quality of the instrument, the third is fast and lively with some strongly waltz-like episodes. Towards the end lyrical material from the first movement returns and in the final bars of the work the opening is heard again, thus bringing the listener full circle. The duration is approximately 20’.


Preview the score