• Benedict Mason
  • Brass Quintet (1989)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Park Lane Group

  • 2tpt(ptpt).hn.tbn.tba
  • 2tpt(ptpt).hn.tbn.tba
  • 15 min

Programme Note

Brass Quintet

Written during the autumn of 1989, and commissioned by the Park Lane Group, this piece divides into three sections and a coda that play without a break.
The first is based on grinding syncopations built around a regular beat, which are broken down into their component parts.
In the middle section fugitive shimmering habaneras mix with increasing layers of rhythmic embellishments.
In the third, fast pulses are chopped into teasingly irregular patterns, the melodic material being drawn from the fewest possible notes for a sense of static tension produced by opposing motivic material.

All three sections feature solo melodies that emerge from and subside backinto the overall texture.

Benedict Mason