• Edward Gregson
  • Sonata for Four Trombones (1984)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Martinin Trombone Ensemble with funds from North West Arts

  • 4tbn
  • 16 min

Programme Note

This work was commissioned by the Marini Trombone Ensemble and was first performed by them at the Purcell Room, London, in January 1985. Funds were provided by North West Arts.

The Sonata is in one continuous movement and takes the dramatic nature of sonata form as its starting point. It consists of five alternating blocks of music which are constantly juxtaposed in different ways:

Tempo 1 - bold and majestically - a fanfare in the form of a rhythmic canon. The appearance of this music always signals a new departure point.

Tempo 2 - stridently

Tempo 3 - peacefully - the music which increasingly becomes important and eventually ends the work

Tempo 4 - aggressively - scherzo-like in style.

Tempo 5 - stately - processional.

Edward Gregson