• Carl Vine
  • Miniature IV (1988)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • fl(pic).cl(bcl)/pf/vn.va.vc
  • 15 min

Programme Note

Miniature IV is a single movement work in three sections. The first grows from the scalar movement at the opening, progressing freely through a series of continuous variations. This leads directly to the central section, which is marked by an argumentative duet between flute and clarinet. This settles, in turn, into a meditative clarinet solo commented upon by flute intrusions. A faster duet leads to the motto perpetuo finale.

Throughout the work, the ensemble is divided into three groups : the violin, viola and cello form a ripieno accompanying trio; the piano, occasionally soloistic, most frequently functions in an accompanying or "commenting" fashion; while at the top of the ensemble, flute and clarinet either alternate or function jointly as a solo unit. The piece is based quite conspicuously, therefore, on the classical concerto model.

Miniature IV was commissioned by the Australia Ensemble with financial assistance from the Performing Arts Board of the Australia Council.