• Nicola LeFanu
  • Preludio I (1967)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • 11111000str
  • 6 min

Programme Note

Preludio was written while LeFanu was an undergraduate at Oxford, and was first performed at the Royal College of Music. It is scored for strings and five solo winds: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn, with the horn having the leading role.

Preludio is a relatively simple piece, concerned with growth and unfolding, as its title might suggest. From tenuous beginnings – the strings playing microtonal tremolandi – the music moves to a more affirmative Allegro con Forza. Soon this dissolves and the piece ends in the questing spirit of the opening. It lasts about six minutes.

Nicola LeFanu