• Nicola LeFanu
  • For We Are The Stars (1978)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • 16 Solo Voices (4S.4A.4T.4B)
  • 8 min

Programme Note

This unaccompanied work as composed for John Alldis and his choir. The sixteen solo singers are arranged in four SATB groups. The text is traditional, from the ‘American Indian’.

For we are the stars
For we sing with our light
For we are birds made of fire
For we spread our wings over the sky
Our light is a voice
We cut a path for the soul
For its journey through death.

Nicola LeFanu