• Erik Bergman
  • Tutti e soli (1990)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Finnish Radio

Dedicated to Juha Kangas and the Ostrobithnian Chamber Orchestra

  • 1(pic)011(cbn)0000percstr(
  • 22 min

Programme Note

Tutti e soli is scored for a chamber orchestra consisting of flute, clarinet, bassoon, percussion and strings (6-5-4-3-2). It is a work in four movements examining, as its name suggests, the tension and dialogue between soloists, small groups of instruments and the whole orchestra. Timbres and unusual performing techniques receive a lot of attention, as in most of Bergman's works. The mood is most fragile in the ghost-like, mysterious meditation of the second movement and most forcible in the complex closing Energico.

© Kimmo Korhonen, November 1998
(translated by © Susan Sinisalo, February 1999)