• Erik Bergman
  • Silence and Eruptions (1979)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by Jeremy Parsons

  • 1111/0000/perc/pf/str(
  • 25 min

Programme Note

Few works have been given a title that so aptly describes their content. This work in four movements for wind quartet, string quartet and percussion is founded - as its name suggests - on strong contrasts. The first and third movements represent the different colours of silence, while the second and fourth release the resulting tensions.
The true substance of "Silence and Eruptions" is time, used either with a liberal hand or in the most sparing manner. Clearly defined rhythmic shapes, improvisation and episodes hovering on the borders of audibility alternate with one another and give the work its overall drama.


More Info