• John McCabe
  • Canzona for Wind and Percussion (1970)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the Farnham Festival

  • 1121/1210/timp.2perc/pf
  • 7 min

Programme Note

This work was commissioned for the 1971 Farnham Festival and is scored for five woodwinds, four brass, three percussionists, and piano, though the wind parts can be doubled for the most part. Formally it is a fairly simple ternary form piece with a central slow section framed by slightly quicker, more ceremonial parts, though the pulse of the music remains the same throughout.