• John McCabe
  • Concerto for Chamber Orchestra (1962)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • 1222/2000/[perc]/str
  • 13 min

Programme Note

Introduzione (Allegro Moderato)
Capriccio (Allegro)
Scherzo (Giocoso)
Notturno (Andante - Lento)

This work was written in 1962 for the Chamber Orchestra of the Royal Manchester College of Music, where I was a student at the time, and its first performance was conducted by David Jordan in that year - in 1968, James Stobart and the New Cantata Orchestra gave the première of a revised version in London. It is a fairly short, uncomplicated piece in which all the thematic material is derived either from the opening phrase, stated boldly by most of the orchestra, or the quieter phrase answering it. The different sections develop these ideas in contrasted moods and at diverse tempi, and have the character almost of separate movements, though the work is played without a break.

The title Concerto was used despite the fairly light feeling of the music, to place the emphasis on the use of solo instruments, which, though not a rigorously applied principle throughout the work, was one of the main impulses in writing it.

© Copyright 1999 by John McCabe