• Witold Lutosławski
  • Mi-parti (1976)

  • Chester Music Ltd (Worldwide except Poland, Albania, Bulgaria, China, countries of former Czechoslovakia, Croatia, former territories of Yugoslavia, Cuba, North Korea, Vietnam, Romania, Hungary and countries of former USSR)

Commissioned by the City of Amsterdam for the Concertgebouw Orchestra

Chester Music is the publisher of this work in all territories except Poland, Albania, Bulgaria, China, countries of the former Czechoslovakia, Cuba, North Korea, Vietnam, Romania, Hungary and the whole territory of the former USSR, where the copyright is held by Polskie Wydawnictwo Muzyczne (PWM).

  • 3(3pic)33(bcl)3/4331/timp.3perc/hp.pf.cel/str(
  • 15 min

Programme Note

The title Mi-Parti (defined in the Quillet Dictionary as ‘comprising two parts which are equal but different’) refers not to the form of the piece but rather to the treatment of the musical content. The phrases are often composed of two parts, the second of which is a restatement of the first, with a new element. The first section of the work is based on a cycle of eight vertical complexes of twelve notes. In the course of the musical development this moves upwards in steps of minor seconds. The following section becomes more and more animated, as it leads to a climax. All movement stops on an icy ‘pianissimo’ chord played by the woodwind. Gradually, this iciness is thawed by successive entries of the solo violins. A cantilena of twelve violins playing ‘ ad libitum’ leads upwards and closes on a unison top C.

''For me, every new work is a new adventure, and everything in it is to some extent, although certain solutions, means and ways can, even must, be used again. One thing is certainly new for me here : a type of music where pastel sounds accompany the solo phrases. I don't remember using it in any other work.''

© Witold Lutoslawski


Mi-parti - 1994 Remastered Version

View Score



More Info