• Magnus Lindberg
  • Arabesques (1978)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • fl.ob.cl.bnhn
  • 12 min

Programme Note

Arabesques, which was completed on 26 December 1978, is Lindberg's first attempt at writing music without a structure theoretical foundation. It represents a radical change in his conception of music, prompted by his recent discovery of Berio, thanks to analyses produced for his teacher Heininen.

In Arabesques, Lindberg is mainly interested in sonority, in the surface of a musical work. The title describes its content: the music evolves in fast instrumental figures, which control the piece's auditory density. The work was written on the request of Esa-Pekka Salonen, an ex-member of the Sonus Wind Quintet.

© Risto Nieminen