• Magnus Lindberg
  • Away (1994)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • percpfstr
  • clarinet
  • 5 min

Programme Note

Away (1994) for clarinet, percussion, piano and strings is a short (5') piece that
contains all the standard features of Lindberg's music of the 1990s. Chorale-like, rich chord sequences throb with rhythmic drive, now taking the form of lively tremolos or scale figures, now dances ticking away. The vitality of Lindberg's musical idiom has inspired other contemporary Finnish composers, too. It is worth making the point, however, that harmonic sequences and surfaces are also the main point of departure and structural element of many other masters of the latter half of the 20th century. These composers are united by a certain 'French quality' contrasted to 'Teutonic' counterpoint; one of the leading composers of this group was Witold Lutoslawski, in memory of whom Lindberg's AWAY was composed.




More Info