• Kenneth Leighton
  • Dance Suite No. 3 (Scottish Dances) (1983)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)
  • 3223/4331/timp.3perc/hp/str
  • 15 min

Programme Note

Kenneth Leighton: Dance Suite No. 3 (Scottish Dances), Op. 89

1. Introduction and Reel
2. Romance
3. Variations, Jig and Reel

This work was composed during the summer of 1983 for the 21st anniversary of the Edinburgh Symphony Orchestra - various references are made to Scottish tunes though literal quotations are rare, and the tunes are freely varied and extended.

The first movement contains (in the slow introduction) a free extension and also a canon derived from Ca' the Yowes, and the following Allegro is inspired by The Wind that Shakes the Barley.

The short and delicately scored Romance has no particular tune in mind but has perhaps a distinctly Scottish flavour.

The last movement is quite elaborate and refers to The Lads of Dunse and, in the final romp, to The Lea Rig.

The tunes are not only freely extended but also combined, and the work is affectionately dedicated to my friends of the Edinburgh Symphony Orchestra.
© Kenneth Leighton