• Erkki-Sven Tüür
  • Leaving behind... (2023)
    (for piano and string orchestra)

  • Henry Litolff’s Verlag GmbH & Co. KG (World)

Commissioned by Rostislav Krimer and East-West Chamber Orchestra

  • pf + str
  • Piano
  • 11 min

Programme Note

On a certain level the music expresses the complex of feelings one has to go through while the most dramatic changes take place in one's life.

The loss of a beloved one. Escape from the homeland. And many more, all these situations are always connected with the most violent actions in the history of mankind, called war. The cruel, absurd and inhuman way of making politics. And also this music serves as a prayer for those suffering souls.


First performed 10 October 2023 at the Historische Stadthalle Wuppertal by the East-West Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Rostislav Krimer.

More Info