Commissioned by the St. Asaph - North Wales Music Festival

  • 3322/4330/timp/hp/str
  • 8 min

Programme Note

i. Prelude
ii. The Flour on the Floor

Two Studies was the beginning of what I had hoped might become a stage work based on the Tristan story. I started composing it as an ‘imaginary ballet’ when Geraint Lewis commissioned a piece for the 1994 St Asaph Festival. Events pursued a twisted course however, and I only produced a series of fragments, from which I composed my short piano concerto The Road of Mirrors and this piece. Lasting around eight minutes, Two Studies is a snapshot of a larger work that never was. It was first performed on 20 September 1994, at St Asaph’s Cathedral, Wales by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales, conducted by the composer.

Rupert Bawden


2 Studies: No. 1. Prelude
2 Studies: No. 2. The Flour on the Floor


Preview the score


More Info