• John Harle
  • Foursquare (1980)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • sax 4t

Programme Note

Foursquare is a short piece for Saxophone Quartet, with each of the players doubling on more than one saxophone.

It follows a pitch centre progression from low to high using chromatic tonal fields surrounding each pitch, and a variety of eccentric solo passages, out of the character of the rest of the work, played in turn by the saxophonist preparing to change to a higher pitched instrument. The accented notes should always be very prominent.

Foursquare was written for the Myrha Saxophone Quartet, and premiered by them during a live broadcast on BBC Radio 3 in 1980.

John Harle, January 2005