• Kaija Saariaho
  • Quatre Messages (1999)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

All four pieces must be performed within one concert but should not be programmed consecutively.

  • fl, hp
  • 2 Sopranos
  • 8 min
  • collage by the composer
  • French

Programme Note

Le ciel s’est éclairé,
les yeux se sont éteints l’étoile resplendit.
L’homme a passé, l’ombre a disparu,
le prisonnier est libre.

text collage by Kaija Saariaho

The Quatre messages are 4 tiny variations Kaija Saariaho has made from the Mort section of Oltra mar, her work for orchestra and chorus which was premiered 11th November 1999 by the New York Philharmonic and Kurt Masur.