• Philip Glass
  • Glassworks (1981)

  • Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc (World)

Each movement can be performed separately
1. Opening 2. Floe 3. Islands 4. Rubric 5. Façades 6. Closing

  • 2fl.2ssx(cl).2tsx(bcl)/2hn/pf(syn,org)/va.vc
  • 40 min
    • 26th June 2023, Minack Theatre, Penzance, United Kingdom
    • 27th June 2023, Minack Theatre, Penzance, United Kingdom
    View all

Programme Note

'Glassworks' was originally written as a commission for CBS Records in 1981 (the first CD of mine recorded for that company). Besides work for my ensemble, it contained several unusual pieces including 'Opening' for solo piano and 'Façades' for solo soprano saxophone. Some of this music later formed the basis of Jerome Robbins' dance piece at the New York City Ballet in 1983. 'Opening' was the beginning of a series of music for solo piano, which I am still adding to, to this day.

© Philip Glass


Glassworks: I. Opening
Glassworks: III. Islands
Glassworks: IV. Rubric
Glassworks: VI. Closing


More Info