Commissioned by the Cheltenham Festival Society and first performed by the Hallé Orchestra conducted by Malcolm Arnold on 3rd July 1961 at Cheltenham Town Hall (Cheltenham Festival).

  • 3222/4331/timp.2perc/hp.cel/str
  • see Two Symphonic Movements in Wind/Brass Ensemble/Band section
  • 33 min

Programme Note

1. Tempestuoso
2. Andante con moto - Adagio
3. Con fuoco
4. Risoluto - Lento

This symphony is in four movements and is written for a normal symphony orchestra with the addition of a celesta. The four movements are divided into two pairs, the first thematically related to the third, and the second to the fourth. It will be noted that in the second movement, the composer is unable to distinguish between sentiment and sentimentality.

After the first performance of my Fourth Symphony there were so many things I felt needed to be said musically that I am more than grateful for the opportunity given me by the Cheltenham Festival Society to attempt to say these things.

© Sir Malcolm Arnold


Symphony No. 5, Op. 74: I. Tempestuoso
Symphony No. 5, Op. 74: II. Andante con moto - Adagio
Symphony No. 5, Op. 74: III. Con fuoco
Symphony No. 5, Op. 74: IV. Risoluto - Lento




More Info