• Bernd Franke
  • Niemandsland (2023)
    (for 2 oboes)

  • Henry Litolff’s Verlag GmbH & Co. KG (World)
  • 2ob
  • Oboe, Oboe
  • 6 min

Programme Note

Niemandsland (2023) is a six-minute work for two oboes and ad libitum oboe choir by Bernd Franke. Its four sections – titled Escape, Scream, Return and Chant – span a variety of textures, with the two main oboes playing in free canon with each other, sharing expressive phrases or passing gestures back and forth. The optional sections for oboe choir add weight and density to the dark and intense sound-world of this work. Niemandsland was written for Christian Wetzel and James Austin Smith.