• Richard Mills
  • Che Scorre (2021)

  • Wise Music G. Schirmer Australia Pty Ltd (World)
  • va.vc
  • 5 min

Programme Note

“That which flows “ is the literal interpretation of the Italian title. This short duo for viola and cello is inspired by the natural world and its ceaseless motion. Rivers, creeks, rain water, ocean currants, the flux of wind and seasonal change are all part of the ever present cosmic motion. This ceaseless movement finds other resonances in seasonal progressions, growth and change, darkness and light, as well as the personal flows and changes in our own lives and relationships. The music flows all the time - it is sometimes moving simultaneously both fast and slow - at a surface tempo and a deeper movement of tempo underneath. The piece also progresses in waves - each leading to an apex point of high music for the viola, which grows out of material featuring the C string of both instruments, just as a plant or tree progresses from its subterranean roots to aerial flowering.

It is dedicated to Harry Swainston and Nadia Barrow - who were able to work on it together during these current dark days of lockdown - two wonderful young musicians. Thank you to Nick Bailey and the ANAM team who conceived and brought this delightful project to fruition.

More Info