• Ross Edwards
  • More Marimba Dances (2004)
    (for solo percussion)

  • Wise Music G. Schirmer Australia Pty Ltd (World)
  • mba + crot.templebloc.frgguiro
  • Marimba
  • 7 min

Programme Note

In 1982 Ross Edwards composed his Marimba Dances, a set of three light-hearted but virtuosic pieces for solo marimba which was taken up by such performers as Michael Askill and Evelyn Glennie and quickly entered the world repertoire. By now it has become a classic and is considered an indispensable test piece for the instrument.

Twenty years later, the Australian percussionist Claire Edwardes suggested that it was time Ross Edwards composed some more marimba pieces. More Marimba Dances, in the same buoyant vein as the earlier set, was commissioned by Terry and Greg Chesher, to whom it is dedicated.

Claire Edwardes gave the first performance at a Musica Viva Australia concert on 31 March 2004 at the Arthouse Hotel, Sydney.