• Richard Mills
  • Cello Concerto (1990)

  • Wise Music G. Schirmer Australia Pty Ltd (World)

Dedicated to Raphael Wallfisch

  • 2(II-picc).1.corA.2(I=Ebcl,II=bcl).2 - - timp.perc(4) - harp - pno - str
  • Cello
  • 20 min

Programme Note

The cello concerto is a drammatic work for cello and orchestra. It is a tightly argued symphonic work in which all of the musical material derives from the opening gestures. Its four sections are thematically connected and the basic material is organically developed, thus emphasizing the symphonic structure of the whole piece.

It opens with the declamatory prelude played by the cello with some outbursts punctuating the cello's meditation. This is followed by an allegro section leading into a meditative Adagio in turn fading into the final section Cadenza/Recitative restating variants of the earlier thematic material. The concerto ends abruptly as it has begun.