• Helen Grime
  • Two Birthday Fragments (2022)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Composed in celebration of Nicholas Daniel on his 60th birthday and first performed by him at the Wigmore Hall, London, on 20 April 2022.

  • ob +
  • Oboe
  • 2 min

Programme Note

Two Birthday Fragments was composed for the oboist Nicholas Daniel and was part of a series of short pieces premiered by him at his 60th birthday concert at the Wigmore Hall, London, in April 2022. The piece comprises a rhapsodic opening and a sharply contrasting second movement subtitled ‘After Fernand Gillet’, referencing the French-American oboist and teacher whose textbook Exercices sur les Gammes, les Intervalles et le Staccato is familiar to conservatoire students around the world.

Programme note © 2022 Chester Music Ltd.