Commissioned by the Jacksonville Symphony, Music Director Courtney Lewis. First performed by the Jacksonville Symphony conducted by Courtney Lewis at Robert E. Jacoby Symphony Hall, Jacksonville, Florida, on 10 June 2022.

Commissioner exclusivity applies

  • 2.2.2(II:bcl).2(II:cbn)/4.3.2+btbn.1/timp.3perc/pf(cel).hp/str
  • 20 min

Programme Note

Trances is a three-movement work which takes the title and subject of Ahmed El Maanouni’s 1981 vibrant documentary film about the groundbreaking Moroccan band Nass El Ghiwane as a springboard from which to jump into a fast-paced, percussive exploration of musical influences in my early life. 

This is the third in a series of orchestral pieces, after Raï (2006) and Chaâbi (2012), in which I meditate upon North African popular and folk music forms. Rather than being ethnographic studies, in these works I am interested in how I recall the music of my youth, and of my own heritage, through the haze of memory. 

Specifically, in Trances I’m trying to define three textures of reminiscence, one in each movement.

Programme note © 2022 Tarik O’Regan


More Info