• Joan Tower
  • A New Day (2021)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)

Commissioned for Alisa Weilerstein by the Colorado Music Festival: Peter Oundjian, Music Director, The Cleveland Orchestra: Franz Welser-Möst, Music Director, the Detroit Symphony Orchestra: Jader Bignamini, Music Director, and the National Symphony Orchestra: Gianandrea Noseda, Music Director.

UK/European premiere(s) reserved

  • vc + 2(II:pic).2.2.2/2.2.0+btbn.0/timp.perc/str
  • Cello
  • 24 min

Programme Note

Composer note
A New Day was commissioned by The Colorado Music Festival, The Cleveland Orchestra, The Detroit Symphony Orchestra, and The National Symphony Orchestra. It was commissioned for and is dedicated to the amazing cellist Alisa Weilerstein.

I wrote the music with love to Jeff, my partner of 48 years, who turned 94 in April of 2021. While composing this piece, I realized that our long time together was getting shorter, becoming more and more precious with each new day…

A New Day is in four movements: “Daybreak,” “Working Out,” “Mostly Alone,” and “Into the Night.” Those titles are suggestions, open to interpretation of what the music might refer to. Following the opening movement’s lyrical beginning, the soloist nudges the orchestra onward at a brisk clip. A moment of reflection leads to the second movement and the work at hand. The third movement is like a cadenza for solitary cello — into which the orchestra’s strings occasionally make appearances. The closing movement rushes forward into the night — ending with hope for another new day.

I want to thank the conductor Peter Oundjian for connecting me with Alisa and initiating the concerto’s commission.

— Joan Tower