ed. John Michael Cooper

  • Piano
  • 3 min

Programme Note

On a Summer's Eve was composed on 15 June 1939. By this point in her career, Price seems to have been especially interested in integrating modernist and traditional styles in her music, from the Third Symphony and First Violin Concerto to piano character pieces such as Clouds and Village Scenes. The work's dark key signature of G-flat major is further darkened by lowered thirds and sixths throughout, and this work, like sections of Clouds and Village Scenes, includes important digressions into post-tonal and impressionist idioms. The result is a musical exploration of a setting unabashedly free and adventurous in melody, harmony, and form.

— John Michael Cooper


Sarah Rushing, piano