• Philip Glass
  • Life: A Journey Through Time (for chamber orchestra) (2006)

  • Dunvagen Music Publishers Inc (World)

orch. by Michael Riesman (2018)

  • 1(pic).2(ca).cl(bcl).1/2.2(pictpt).1+btbn.0/timp.2perc/hp.pf(cel)/str
  • 1 hr

Programme Note

I. Elements
II. Beginnings
III. Out of the Sea
IV. On Land
V. Into the Air
VI. Out of the Dark
VII. Planet of Life

New 60-minute multimedia piece for chamber orchestra in seven sections, adapted from works originally composed for smaller ensembles or solo instruments, and now presented for the first time in arrangements for full orchestra, for presentation with visuals by National Geographic photographer Frans Lanting choreographed by visual designer and editor Alexander V. Nichols.

Commissioned by Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music, led by musical director and conductor by Marin Alsop.

Related works:
   Life: A Journey Through Time (for full orchestra)
   Life: A Journey Through Time (for chamber orchestra)

View Score

Full score

More Info