• Outi Tarkiainen
  • The Lustful Mother - version for baritone, piano and string quartet (2018)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)

  • pf.2vn.va.vc
  • Bar
  • 30 min
  • Rauni Magga Lukkari / Rose-Marie Huuva

Programme Note

I The Time of the Lustful Mother
II A Breath of Wind
III Night or Day
IV Still Shines Within Me
V Hallowed Be

Naarasäiti (The Lustful Mother) is about becoming a mother, an experience in which sexuality combines in a natural way with the birth of a new life. The texts of the cycle are from the collections of poems Äitejä, tyttäriä (Árbeeadni, The Time of the Lustful Mother, 2013) and Kylmä kumppani (Galbma rádna, My Cold Companion, 1999) by two contemporary Sámi poets, Rauni Magga Lukkari and Rose-Marie Huuva. The poems’ primitive, matriarchal beat is present throughout in the music: a dark, earthy solo viola accompanies the baritone while the sizzling, sparkling string quartet erupts at times in powerful textures. .



More Info