• Aaron Jay Kernis
  • String Quartet No. 4 'Oasis' (2018)

  • AMP and AJK Music (World)

Commissioned by The Sydney E. Frank Foundation, Tippet Rise Art Center, and Cathy and Peter Halstead.

  • 2vn, va, vc; pre-recorded tracks in movement IV
  • 20 min

Programme Note

I. Rising
II. Portal Nightsong
III. Oasis
IV. Mysterium

The fourth movement, Mysterium, can be performed in three possible ways: 1) live string quartet with an immersive, stereo or surround sound multi-track recording of eight Violin 1 lines, six Violin 2 and Viola lines, eight Cello lines and 3 lines of Cello lowered in pitch by one octave, 2) with roughly 8 string quartets plus three basses, or 3) string orchestra: 86663.

All of the tracks can be recorded anew, or a pre-existing recording by the Borromeo Quartet can be used, and is available from the Publisher. The audio files will include an audible click track (used with headphones) or a visual click (used with IPads or other screen devices).