• Cheryl Frances-Hoad
  • Piano Concerto No.1 (2009)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • Piano
  • 26 min

Programme Note

Written with funding from Wicklow County Council's Per Cent for Art programme, and premiered by Bobby Chen and the Greystones Orchestra in May 2009 in Wicklow, Ireland.

Piano Concerto No. 1 was written with a professional pianist and nonprofessional orchestra in mind, and is thus ideal for young pianists at the start of their careers (when many concerto engagements may not be with professional orchestras).

The work is inspired by various aspects of the countryside on the Essex/Suffolk border where Cheryl was living at the time of writing the concerto.