• Anna Thorvaldsdottir
  • Spectra (2017)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Commissioned by the NJORD New Nordic Music Biennale. The first performance was given on 27 January 2018 at the Koncertkirken, Copenhagen, Denmark, by members of the Copenhagen Piano Quartet.

Commissioned by the NJORD New Nordic Music Biennale

  • vn.va.vc
  • 9 min
    • 19th October 2020, Kino Tapiola, Espoo, Finland
    View all

Programme Note

The piece is in 6 short movements that are performed in a seamless flow from one movement to the next. Atmospheric indications are written in bold italic letters at the start of each movement.

My music is written as an ecosystem of materials that are carried from one performer – or performers – to the next throughout the process of the work. As you play a phrase, harmony, texture or a lyrical line it is being delivered to you, passed on from another performer for you to carry on until it is delivered to another. All materials continuously grow in and out of each other, growing and transforming throughout the process.

Anna Thorvaldsdottir


Anna Thorvaldsdottir: Spectra

View Score

Score Sample