• Britta Byström
  • Infinite Rooms (2016)

  • Edition Wilhelm Hansen Copenhagen (World)
  • 1+pic.2.1+ebcl.2/2200/perc/str
  • Double Bass, Violin (=Viola)
  • 30 min

Programme Note

Please click 'Watch' for a presentation by the composer.

Infinite Rooms, a Double Concerto for Violin/Viola, Doublebas and Orchestra, is a work inspired by the type of mirror installations createde by the Japanese artist Yayoi Kusama. You look into a room, where a certain detail is reproduced in infinity by using mirrors. Often the detail reproduced is simple, easy to spot and the complexity that is created by the multiplicity.

My work consists of six movements, and every movement is followed by a musical room of infinity. In these rooms the orchestra dominates, while the soloists dominate in the six movements. The two soloists mirror each other in another way: Imagine the violin as a figure that casts long shadows – double bass shadows – and the double bass as a figure that casts short shadows – violin shadows. Together they form a pair whose range is more than a whole piano keyboard. But the extremes can even meet in unison.

Infinite Rooms is written in close collaboration with the outstanding soloists Malin Broman and Rick Stotijn and the work is dedicated to them.



Score preview