• Thea Musgrave
  • Night Windows for Oboe and 15 Strings (2016)

  • Novello & Co Ltd (World)

Arranged by the composer from Night Windows for oboe and piano (2007)

  • str
  • Oboe
  • 13 min

Programme Note

Walking down a darkened street it’s hard to resist looking in through lighted windows and catching a glimpse of other people’s lives. The imagination lingers…

Night Windows is the title of a painting by Edward Hopper of a scene in one such lighted window. However the scenes in this work – though reflecting something of all the loneliness in so many of the Hopper paintings – are all imaginary: highly charged emotional moments.

Loneliness: Anger: Nostalgia: Despair: Frenzy.

The oboe and piano version of Night Windows was commissioned by the International Double Reed Society and it is dedicated to Nicholas Daniel.

Programme note © 2007 Thea Musgrave


Performed by Amy Turner oboe, and The Glasgow Barons conducted by Paul MacAlindin in 2020


Preview the score