• 2(pic).2(ca).2.2/[cel]/str
  • 19 min

Programme Note

Originally composed in 1979-80 for Gordon Wright and the Arctic Chamber Orchestra. Revised in 2004 to honor Gordon Wright on his 70th birthday.

A Northern Suite:

I. Blue Ice, Crystal Air
II. Mountains Without End
III. Cloud Forest
IV. Rivers Of Ice
V. Valley Of Frozen Fire

This work is dedicated to my dear friend Gordon Wright,with gratitude, admiration and affection.

John Luther Adams

There are silences so deep
you can hear
the journeys of the soul,
enormous foot-steps
downward in a freezing earth.

John Haines


Preview the score