• 16 min

Programme Note

Commissioned by the Arctic Chamber Orchestra.

The Far Country of Sleep was composed in memory of the late Morton Feldman. Although he was an unrepentant urbanite, Feldman's music is, for me, haunted by the idea of the sublime landscape, imaginary or real. The title of this homage to him is borrowed from a poem by John Haines. It evokes in my mind both the distant dreamscapes of the Arctic and that ultimate wilderness, through which we all must pass.

The score is inscribed with a line from Alexander Pope, which Feldman once recited to me:

Art after Art goes out,
and all is night....



Preview the score