Commissioned by yMusic

  • fl, cl, tpt, vn, va, vc
  • 10 min

Programme Note

Composer Note:
Ecstatic Science was commissioned by New York-based sextet yMusic and premiered at Carnegie Hall, New York, in December 2016. There’s a lot of math at play; chord progressions are drawn-out, multiplied, condensed, and layered. Melodies are flipped upside-down and fractured into the smallest possible element. The horizontal becomes vertical and the vertical stretches systematically into a twisting melody. The “science” behind the notes provides a frame for a persistent, bubbling energy, a scaffold for the ecstatic gestures that eventually consume everything else.
— Missy Mazzoli


More Info