• Betsy Jolas
  • Histoires Vraies (2015)
    (A concertante suite for piano trumpet and orchestra)

  • Alphonse Leduc (World)
  • 2(picc,afl).2(ca).2(bcl).2(cbn)/
  • trumpet, piano
  • 20 min

Programme Note

These stories can be held true for at least two reasons : 1) they fulfill a strong wish to play together clearly expressed by two great living performers, whose repertoires have, so far, rarely brought them to associate 2) They demonstrate my first conscious attempt to work with the » sounds we try not to hear » as Abraham Mole called noises back in the 50s. Sounds that are here selected from my daily environment and either tamed as usual through stylization, or left quasi crude with their full disturbing potential.


Histoires Vraies


Preview the score