• Lior Rosner
  • 6 x 6 Metamorphoses for string orchestra (2016)
    (6 x 6 for String Orchestra)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)
  • string orchestra
  • 19 min

Programme Note

I was inspired to write a multi-movement piece for string orchestra after attending a conducting masterclass in which I had the chance to conduct some of the core string orchestra repertoire, including the Tchaikovsky and Dvorak serenades and other contemporary pieces like Bartok’s Divertimento for strings.

Six by Six is constructed of six movements based on a six-note motif.

The movements are in contrasting moods and alternate between slow and fast tempos.

The first movement, Slowly emerging, starts with an introduction of the six note motif and one other five-note motif that is derivative of the original motif. These two are presented in various permutations and chord formations which slowly create the sound world that will be developed later in the piece.

The second movement is playful in mood and further expends the dialogue between the six and five-note motifs in a more animated character.

The third movement, titled Seductive, intimate, is slow-moving and harmonically textured. This movement is an homage to one of my favourite composers, Henri Dutilleux. The movement's harmony continues to development against the repeated five-note motif anchored in the bass. Later on, a climactic series of twelve-note chords slowly thin in texture morph back into one central note, bringing the movement to a close.

The fourth movement is march like in tempo and characterized by alternating time signatures and contrasting textures and dynamics.

The fifth movement is the longest and is an adagio based on a permutation of the original six-note motif. Following a fugue based on a perpetual movement of descending tritones, the movement comes to a climax that brings a chromatic descending line to the foreground, an element from the first movement.

The piece concludes with a scherzo that is lighter in mood and tonally centred around the key of D, bringing back various elements and permutations from earlier movements. The coda reveals a grand and harmonically rich harmonization of the singe line motif that started the piece.


Preview the score