• Kaija Saariaho
  • Dreaming Chaconne (Variation on the Chiacona of Giuseppe Colombi) (2010)

  • Chester Music Ltd (World)

Dreaming Chaconne was written as one of thirty-one variations for solo cello on the famous Chiacona per basso solo by Giuseppe Colombi(1635–1694), each by a contemporary composer, to mark the fiftieth birthday of Finnish cellist Anssi Karttunen in 2010. The complete collection is published as Mystery Variations (CH77495).

As my piece is a variation of Colombi's work, I would prefer it played immediately preceded by the Chiacona.

Kaija Saariaho
May 2014

  • solo cello