• Matthew Aucoin
  • Three √Čtudes (2014)

  • Associated Music Publishers Inc (World)
  • pf
  • 9 min

Programme Note

Listen to movement I
Listen to movement II
Listen to movement III

rondo which devours itself
a sounding

Composer note
These are studies not of particular technical challenges of piano playing, but rather in forms of musical motion and pianistic sonic possibilities. The playful "rondo which devours itself" consists of a recurring fragmentary line in the right hand that is constantly menaced by opposing forces in the music, little electric jolts that force the line to grow shorter and shorter over the piece's brief lifespan, until the whole complex self-combusts. The second etude, "currents," is a study in a strange, hovering form of perpetual motion. And the third, "a sounding," is a melancholy sounding of the depths of the piano's rich capacity for resonance.

— Matthew Aucoin

View Score